Meet our People

Meet Pavel from Engineering


Pavel was previously an underwriter at Zurich Insurance Company in Moscow for three years, responsible for engineering and property commercial and corporate business.

Pavel Smirnov-Nebosklonov

How long have you been with Allianz?

I've been at Allianz for only one year but the rapid development of AGCS Russia has made it feel like a lot longer.

What's your main responsibility with AGCS?

As an engineering underwriter, I oversee the construction underwriting requests for AGCS, which total more than $100 million. We work closely with our AGCS colleagues in Munich.

So far, what have been some of your greatest achievements since joining AGCS?

Considering how the Russian engineering insurance market is monopolized by the state or by large and powerful investment companies, being awarded direct insurance contracts has been a major highlight for me. Also, it is standard practice in Russia for a direct insurer to take on 100 percent of the risk, so it can be very satisfying to find reinsurance solutions that comply with Allianz standards and security guidelines.

Describe your job in three words:

Pricing, risk assessment and (some) marketing.

Which languages, besides Russian, do you use at work?

I use English everyday and I am currently taking German at the Goethe Institute in Moscow.


Describe the most challenging situation you have faced in your current role:

The merger of three companies in April 2012, which resulted in OJSC IC Allianz. Internally, there were a lot of structural changes and challenges with everday office operations. These were handled, however, without the client ever experiencing service interruption.

What are your long-term career goals and aspirations?

My insurance career is only beginning, so my aim is to become a highly experienced engineering underwriter and to develop myself within Allianz.

Any hobbies or interests you'd like to share with us?

I spend all of my vacation time traveling and seeing the world. I've been to much of Europe and now want to see Asia. In the winter, I like to go snowboarding and in the summer, I'm usually restoring my 1965 Lambretta scooter.